# THE AUCKLAND MEDICAL HISTORY SOCIETY

Founded in 1964

"for the promotion of an Interest in and knowledge of medical history through lectures, discussions, exhibitions and other means"



Building 43 Auckland City Hospital Park Road, Grafton, Auckland.

Secretary: Mrs Jenny Collins PO Box 125026, St Heliers, Auckland 1071

Tel: 09 585 0414 Mob: 027 867 7599

Email: secretary@amhs.co.nz

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE AUCKLAND MEDICAL HISTORY SOCIETY HELD ON 3 OCTOBER 2019 IN THE ERNEST AND MARION DAVIS LIBRARY, AUCKLAND CITY HOSPITAL AT 7.30PM

- 1. Present: John Collins (President), Jenny Collins (Hon. Secretary), Peter Holst (Hon. Treasurer), Neil Anderson, Pat Clarkson, Peter Stone, Tom Miller, Diane Seddon, Ron Trubuhovich, and 47 ordinary members.
- 2. Apologies: Judy Murphy, Henry Doerr, Bruce Hadden, John and Noeline Buchanan
- **3. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 4 October 2018** had previously been circulated and were accepted unanimously.

### 4. Matters Arising

There were no matters arising.

## 5. President's Report

The President's report had previously been circulated and was accepted.

The President said that the Executive had discussed the payment for meals and refreshments at the EMDL. Neil Anderson has to get permission each month to bring refreshments on members' behalf into the EMDL. From next year no cash will be taken at the door for dinners and refreshments and therefore payment will need to be made at the time of booking the dinner.

## 6. Financial Report

The Treasurer had previously circulated the financial statements. He explained he had circulated a narrative financial report and a four-page copy of the AMHS financial statements 1 Jan to 31 Dec 2018. He said that the financial performance had been good and that there was a surplus of around \$5,000. The net assets rose by a corresponding amount. Overall it had been a successful year. He thanked Susan Cameron for her advice and help.

He moved that the AMHS Financial Statement to the year ending 31 December 2018 be approved. This was seconded by Neil Anderson and approved by members.

#### 7. Election of Officers

The President vacated the Chair and Past President Neil Anderson presided. Neil Anderson reported that all members of the Executive had agreed to stand again apart from Ron Trubuhovich who has retired. Judy Murphy who was a co-opted member of the committee, was nominated for full membership by Pat Clarkson and seconded Ron Trubuhovich. No other nominations had been received from members.

Neil moved that the President: John Collins, Hon. Secretary: Jenny Collins, and Hon. Treasurer: Peter Holst and the remaining members of the Executive, Neil Anderson, Pat Clarkson, Tom Miller, Diane

Seddon, Peter Stone and Judy Murphy be elected. This was seconded Ross Blair and unanimously approved by all members.

# 8. Honorary Life Membership

The President informed the meeting that two nominations for Honorary Life Membership had been received. David Caughey had been nominated by Susan Cameron, seconded Ron Trubuhovich and John Webster had been nominated by Neil Anderson, seconded by John Collins. These nominations received unanimous support, and both will receive an appropriate certificate at the Christmas Dinner meeting on the 21 November 2019.

# 9. Any other business

There was no other business.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 7.40pm.

Jenny Collins Hon. Secretary Auckland Medical History Society 6 October 2019